José Pedro Pérez-Llorca is appointed new President of the Board of Trustees of the Museo del Prado

    José Pedro Pérez-Llorca, a distinguished figure within Spanish society due to his role in the creation of the Constitution of 1978 and an eminent lawyer, was today appointed President of the Royal Board of Trustees of the Museo Nacional del Prado following the completion of Plácido Arango’s term of office last July. This appointment was unanimously approved at the proposal of José Ignacio Wert, the Spanish Minister of Education, Culture and Sport, at the plenary session of the Museum’s principal governing body that took place this morning.

    Thursday 25 October 2012

    José Ignacio Wert, the Spanish Minister of Culture, today presided over a plenary session of the Royal Board of Trustees of the Museo del Prado, during which the appointment of José Pedro Pérez-Llorca as President of the Board to replace Plácido Arango, who has announced his decision not to renew his term of office, was unanimously approved. During this session the Board of Trustees nominated Plácido Arango as a Patron of Honour.

    José Pedro Pérez-Llorca (born Cadiz, 1940) graduated in Law from the Universidad Complutense, Madrid, with a special end of degree prize before completing his studies at various European universities. He entered the diplomatic service and later joined the Cortes Generales as a member of its legal staff.

    During his professional career José Pedro Pérez-Llorca has combined his activities as a lawyer with that of professor of Constitutional Law in the Faculty of Political Sciences at the Universidad Complutense.

    Pérez-Llorca joined the Central Democratic Alliance and was a member of Adolfo Suárez’s government as Minister for the Presidency, Minister of Territorial Administration and Foreign Affairs Minister, occupying the latter position under Leopoldo Calvo-Sotelo. He was a member of the Spanish Lower House of Parliament from 1977 to 1982.

    Following active participation in the political life of his country, José Pedro Pérez-Llorca then focused entirely on his profession as a lawyer and has been a member of the board of directors of several companies, including various multinationals.

    José Pedro Pérez-Llorca has been made doctor honoris causa of three Spanish universities in recognition of his endeavours as one of the seven authors of the Spanish Constitution of 1978.

    Ministerio de Cultura. Gobierno de España; abre en ventana nueva
    España es cultura Spain is culture
    Portal de la transparencia. Gobierno de España
    Copyright © 2015 Museo Nacional del Prado.
    Calle Ruiz de Alarcón 23
    Madrid 28014
    Tel. +34 91 330 2800.
    Todos los derechos reservados